Colorado CLE Requirements

Colorado's Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Requirement:
The Colorado State Bar requires attorneys to complete 45 Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit hours every 3 years. The 45 CO CLE hours must include 7 hours of Professional Responsibility / Ethics. 

  • Note: Starting January 1, 2023 the 7 professional responsibility hours must include at least 2 credit hours in the areas of equality, diversity, or inclusivity, and the remaining 5 credit hours must be in the areas of of legal ethics, or legal professionalism. 
Colorado CLE Compliance Deadline:
Colorado attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by December 31st of their compliance year, which is every 3 years. An Attorneys first compliance period begins on the date of admission to practice law in Colorado, and ends on December 31st of the third full calendar year following the year of admission.   

Colorado CLE Reporting Deadline: 
Colorado attorneys have until January 31st to report their CLE hours earned before December 31st of their compliance year. 

State Bar of Colorado Accredited CLE Providers:
LexVid currently has 102 courses that qualify for CLE credit in the state of Colorado.

Easily Complete your Colorado CLE requirement online with LexVid

metatag alt for bundles-icon-blue.png
CO Course Bundle

Receive a curated playlist of Colorado courses to easily & affordably fulfill your CLE requirement online.

metatag alt for choose-courses-blue.png
Choose Your Courses

Choose only the hours you need & the courses you want with A La Carte Hours, or the CO Custom Package.

metatag alt for infinite-courses-blue.png
Unlimited CLE Courses

Complete all of the CO courses you want for 1 year. Complete more than your minimum requirement.

Frequently Asked Questions about Colorado CLE Compliance

How do I report my Colorado CLE compliance?
For programs held in Colorado, the sponsor of the program will give you the Board's Affidavit to complete, and will submit it to the Board for you. For programs held outside of Colorado, submit to the Board a photocopy of your Colorado Affidavit form. The reporting deadline is the January 31st following the compliance deadline.

What if I'm a newly admitted attorney in Colorado?
The compliance period for newly admitted attorneys in Colorado extends for three years after the year they were admitted. Also, 4 of the 7 hours in ethics must be satisfied by completing the Colorado Bar's Mandatory Course on Professionalism.

What if I've been inactive or exempt for part of my Colorado CLE cycle?
Colorado attorneys who are registered as "inactive" are not subject to the mandatory CLE requirement for so long as they maintain inactive status. If you are "inactive" for less than one year during your compliance period, your CLE requirement is the same as it was when you registered as "inactive". If you are "inactive" for more than one year, a new three year compliance period is established beginning January 1st following the year in which active status is requested.

What if I take a CLE course outside of the state Colorado?
Submit a Colorado Affidavit form with the section entitled "accreditation in another (mandatory CLE) state" completed. The Affidavit can be found here: http://www.cletrack.com/. Please note that LexVid courses are accredited out of state and must be reported in this manner.

How are Colorado CLE credit hours calculated?
Generally, the Colorado State Bar will award one unit of credit for each 50 minutes of CLE instruction.

Can I carry over extra Colorado CLE credit hours?
Sorry, The Colorado Bar does not allow attorneys to carry over CLE credits from one compliance period to another.

How can I contact the Colorado State CLE board?
State of Colorado Supreme Court Board of Continuing Education
Phone: 303-928-7771
Email: cleinfo@csc.state.co.us

What if I have more questions about Colorado CLE?
Check our help center: https://help.lexvid.com, shoot us an email at support@lexvid.com or give us a call at 1-877-327-1226. We look forward to hearing from you!