Florida's Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Requirement:
The Florida State Bar requires attorneys to complete 33 Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit hours every 3 years. The 33 FL CLE hours must include 5 hours in legal ethics, professionalism, substance abuse, mental illness awareness, or bias elimination, and 3 hours in technology.
Florida CLE Deadline:
The Florida State Bar assigns each attorney their CLE compliance period and deadline. Attorneys must complete their CLE by the last day of their compliance period.
State Bar of Florida Accredited CLE Providers:
All LexVid courses qualify for Florida Continuing Legal Educaiton credit according to Florida Bar CLE Rule 6-10.3 (e). There is no fee for credit submission.
Earn All of Your Florida CLE Credits with LexVid
Receive a curated playlist of Florida courses to easily & affordably fulfill your CLE requirement online.
Choose only the hours you need & the courses you want with A La Carte Hours, or the FL Custom Package.
Complete all of the FL courses you want for 1 year. Complete more than your minimum requirement.
How do I report my Florida CLE compliance?
To receive credit for completing a CLE course online with LexVid, simply email the certificate of completion and course outline to the Florida Bar at email@example.com. You certificate of completion was emailed to you and can also be found here: lexvid.com/secure/completed/florida-cle
As an out of state provider, LexVid courses do not have Florida course numbers. However, the Florida Bar will give you CLE credit upon proof of completion of LexVid courses. Our courses are deemed approved via CLE Rule 6-10.3 (e).
What if I'm a newly admitted attorney in Florida?
Attorneys that are newly admitted to the Florida Bar must complete the Basic Skills Requirement through the completion of CLE programs developed and presented by the Young Lawyers Division of the Florida Bar. This includes the in-person attendance at a 1-day Practicing with Professionalism program, and the completion of 3 elective, basic, substantive CLE programs. Rule 6-12.1 - 6-12.3.
What if I've been inactive or exempt for part of my Florida CLE cycle?
Attorneys whose Florida Bar membership status is inactive are exempt from the CLE requirement, and attorneys whose inactive status ends prior to the end of the reporting period must fulfill the CLE requirements based on the pro rata portion of the non-exempt reporting period.
What if I don't comply by my Florida CLE deadline?
You may be deemed a delinquent member which prohibits you from engaging in the practice of Florida law.
What if I take a CLE course outside of the state of Florida?
According the Florida State Bar, courses approved by other state bars are presumptively acceptable for use toward satisfying CLER. The completed application(s) may be submitted via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax at 850-561-9421. Please note that LexVid's programs are accredited out of state. Upon completion of a LexVid program, you will be provided with these forms and submission instructions.
How are Florida CLE credit hours calculated?
The total length of the program in minutes is divided by 50.
Can I carry over extra Florida CLE credit hours?
Sorry, Florida attorneys cannot carry over extra credit hours from one reporting period to another.
How can I contact the Florida State CLE board?
The Florida Bar Legal Specialization & Education Department
651 E. Jefferson Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300
What if I have more questions about Florida CLE?
Check our help center: https://help.lexvid.com, shoot us an email at email@example.com or give us a call at 1-877-327-1226. We look forward to hearing from you!
- Hours Don't Expire
- Access the Entire Library
- 90 Day Money Back