New Jersey's Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Requirement:
The State Bar of New Jersey requires attorneys to complete 24 Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit hours every 2 years. The 24 NJ CLE hours must include 5 hours of Ethics courses. Of those 5 hours of Ethics, at least 2 must be in Diversity, Inclusion, and Elimination of Bias.
*COVID 19 Rule Change: Effective 3/10/2020, and until further notice, all 24 New Jersey CLE credit hours may be earned online and on-demand from accredited providers like LexVid. See the New Jersey Supreme Court Order here:
New Jersey CLE Deadline:
The New Jersey State Bar groups attorneys into 1 of 2 compliance groups depending on their birth date. The CLE deadlines for these groups are:
Group 1 (Birthday 1/1-6/30)
Compliance Deadline: December 31st, Every Odd Year
Group 2 (Birthday 1/1-6/30)
Compliance Deadline: December 31st, Every Even Year
New Jersey CLE Reporting Deadline:
New Jersey attorneys have until 1 year after their compliance group deadline to report their compliance with their Annual Attorney Registration and Billing. Courses taken online with LexVid will be reported to the New Jersey State Bar by LexVid on the attorneys behalf.
State Bar of New Jersey Accredited CLE Providers:
LexVid is a New Jersey accredited CLE provider.
LexVid's New Jersey CLE Accredited Provider #: 1562
Receive a curated playlist of New Jersey courses to easily & affordably fulfill your CLE requirement online.
Choose only the hours you need & the courses you want with A La Carte Hours, or the NJ Custom Package.
Complete all of the NJ courses you want for 1 year. Complete more than your minimum requirement.
How do I report my New Jersey CLE compliance?
New Jersey attorneys must self-report compliance on the Annual Registration & Billing Statement which must be postmarked by their deadline. BCLE Reg. 401:2.
What if I'm a newly admitted attorney in New Jersey?
Newly admitted New Jersey attorneys must obtain fifteen of their 24 credit hours in any five of the following nine subject areas during their first two-year compliance period: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing procedures; New Jersey trust and business accounting; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey municipal court practice; and New Jersey law office management. BCLE Reg. 202:1. More information on newly admitted attorney requirements can be found here: https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/newlyadmitted.pdf
What if I don't comply by my New Jersey CLE deadline?
New Jersey attorneys who miss their CLE deadline will be notified by the Board of noncompliance and may receive a short grace period to achieve compliance. Any credits obtained during this time will count only for the previous compliance period and not your then-current compliance reporting period. You will receive no more than one grace period. Those failing to timely report compliance will be assessed a $150 late compliance fee. If you fail to comply you may be administratively ineligible to practice. BCLE Reg. 402:1 and 402:3.
What if I take a CLE course outside of the state of New Jersey?
New Jersey grants 1:1 credit for courses taken that have been approved in another jurisdiction through reciprocity provided the course meets the CLE requirements in New Jersey. There is no fee.
How are New Jersey CLE credit hours calculated?
50 minutes of instruction time constitutes 1 CLE credit hour in New Jersey. BCLE Reg. 103:1(j) .
Can I carry over extra New Jersey CLE credit hours?
Yes. New Jersey attorneys can carry over up to 12 credit hours to the next compliance period. BLCE Reg. 201:3.
How long do I need to keep my New Jersey CLE certificates?
NJ attorneys must keep their certificates of completion for at least three years in case they are audited. Copies of all LexVid Certificates of Completion can be found at lexvid.com/secure/completed/new-jersey-cle
How can I contact the New Jersey State CLE board?
Supreme Court of New Jersey
Board of Continuing Education
P.O. Box 970
Trenton, NJ 08625-0970
What if I have more questions about New Jersey CLE?
Check our help center: https://help.lexvid.com, shoot us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org or give us a call at 1-877-327-1226. We look forward to hearing from you!
- Hours Don't Expire
- Access the Entire Library
- 90 Day Money Back